Vintage Bar Redo for Mother

So my mother got this vintage bar from a thrift shop for $20 a WHILE ago. It was so cheap was because the lock on the bottom section was broken, and no one in the shop could get it open. Well mom figured it out, because she has those wonderful “fix it” qualities that mothers develop over time, and thus we got a sturdy little bar with lots of potential! Then it sat… and sat… for the longest time while we decided what was next. I finally had some extra time to tackle the project over the Christmas break. Here are the before pictures:

Image

If you have cats, you know that in their mind, any open drawer, cabinet, box, ANYTHING is fair game. You get used to it after a while. I pretend they are my person Vanna Whites.

Image

Image

I scraped the newspaper clippings off the side, sanded the whole thing and then filled in any ugly dents or scratches. Then I taped up all my lines with masking tape and got to painting! You can see some of the taping below. That picture was after all the paingting was done, but before the top coat of polyurethane.

IMG_1718

I let it dry until the next morning and then I put about 3 coats of polyurethane for a shiny and durable finish.

6X0A2371

6X0A2373

And that is the finished product! Well semi finished. The lock still has to be repaired, and we have to get a second glass panel made for the middle section… plus I still need to refinish the inside, but whatever, finished for now! The interior light automatically turns on when the door is opened and that little shelf thing slides up and out automatically too. Pretty fancy right? I absolutely love it!